Elusive Presence – First Update

Using Stuart Elden’s format for sharing the progress made during the writing of his current book project, I will be sharing updates on my book project Elusive Presence: How Images Make Themselves Felt every month or more. My plan is to have the manuscript handed in on October 31, 2015. So far I have completed three of the eight chapters and the preface.

I will have the introduction finished by the end of this week. I just need to finish one more section on how images cannot be easily be describe as subject- or object-oriented. Instead I view images as emergent relational events that momentarily arise in the midst of an encounter between two entities. In the case put forward in this project these two entities are us and an artwork. This position has come from my readings of the radical empiricism of William James, the activist philosophy of Brian Massumi, the relational philosophy of Erin Manning, and the process-oriented work of Alfred North Whitehead. Images are more akin to “superjects” and “objectiles” in which their composition is constantly modulating.

Once I have finished the introduction I will be moving onto chapter 3, which is on how images can no longer follow the two dominant imaging model of the modern era – linear perspective and the Bergsonian cinematic paradigm.

I am still not sure if I will be posting the manuscript versions of the chapters here as pdfs as I complete them. Please let me know if there is any interest in reading them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

